top of page

About Us

Of the 17 million new households formed in the next 15 years, 13 million will be traditional minorities. The need is immense…and the opportunity is contracting. Homeownership is under attack from many different venues. Single family homeowners lost nearly $7 trillion in aggregate value from the peak in 2007. With the $7 trillion value loss, homes are more affordable than any time in the past 15 years. We have the lowest mortgage rates in history, and yet homeownership rates are falling in every segment of America. Credit is too tight; government and business policies are making it very difficult for first time homebuyers to achieve the dream of homeownership; legislation and regulation currently under consideration could make it even less attainable.

The AHA is the “advocate” voice to protect against policies that do not meet the test of protecting or promoting sustainable homeownership for all segments of America.


Board of Directors


Phil Bracken
Chairman and Founder


Tino Diaz
Managing Director
Chief Administrative Officer


Barrett Burns


Jim Park


John Taylor


Julius L. Cartwright


Gary Acosta


Marcia J. Griffin 

Leadership Team


Tino Diaz
Managing Director
Chief Administrative Officer


Managing Director - National Sales and Membership Development

Kara Ward

Policy Counsel


Sue Johnson

Senior Advisor

Donna Burge

Senior Advisor

Steve Lujan Pro Pic - 2022.JPG

Steve A. Lujan

Senior Advisor


Courtney Thompson

Senior Advisor


Scott Schang

Senior Advisor


 Marisa Calderon 

Senior Advisor


William Pitre

Senior Advisor


Advisory Board

Jerry Ascencio - Past Chairman - National Assoc. of Hispanic Real Estate Professionals    
Armando Falcon - Former Regulator of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac    
Ed Gorman - EVP - National Community Reinvestment Coalition
Marcia Griffin -
President and CEO, HomeFree USA 
Shawn Krause
- Former EVP - Quicken Loans 
Joe Murin
- Former President - Ginnie Mae     
Lisa Rice - CEO - National Fair Housing Alliance  
Cy Richardson
- SVP - National Urban League
Donnell Spivey
- Former President - National Association of Real Estate Brokers     
John Wong - Past Chairman - Asian Real Estate Association of America
Barry Zigas - Directory Housing Policy - Consumer Federation of America

Michelle Young - Senior Advisor

Ted Tozer - Senior Advisor

Paul Mullings - Senior Advisor

William Petri - Senior Advisor

Marisa Calderon - Senior Advisor

Eric Selk - Senior Advisor

Susie Henson - Senior Advisor

Mark Heger - Senior Advisor

bottom of page